The Moeller House System

2014-15 House LeadersAbout Our School Governance System

Implemented in 2005, the House System has three primary objectives:

1. To increase pastoral care to each student,
2. To allow students opportunities to build strong personal and collegial relationships, and
3. To encourage every student to develop as a leader.

The House System is an alternative form of student governance where students from all grades are divided into separate groups called “Houses” that contain approximately 165 students.

Pictured: Moeller's 2014-15 School House System Leaders: House Director Karen Matuszek and (from left) Vice-Captain Schneider '15, School Captain Nick Wright '15, and Vice-Captain Jack Toomb '15.

CLICK HERE for the 2014-15 House System PDF...

CLICK HERE for a student-produced video on Moeller's House System.


About Moeller's House System of Student Governance

Moeller's six Houses are overseen by a “House Dean” who helps to establish smaller communities of students within the school. Within each House are “Mentor Groups” that  consist of approximately 20 students. Each Mentor Group is staffed by a faculty/staff member, and these groups remain together throughout the students’ school years. In addition to its primary objectives to enhance pastoral care, encourage interpersonal relationships, and develop leadership skills, the House System increases school spirit. During the school year the Houses compete for the school honor of earning the "Marianist Cup" by accumulating points for attendance, service hours, fewest detentions, etc. At the end of the year the Houses compete in the Crusader Games, a spirited afternoon of activities.



Nick Wright '15 (on far right)
VICE-CAPTAINS: Matt Schneider '15 (on far left) & Jack Toomb '15 (center)

EVESLAGE – Matt Crable and Zach Siegert
PILLAR – Chris Hackman and Grady Quinn
QUIROGA – Mitch Poch and Austin Sanders
TRINITY – Nick Mendel and Jake Rogan
ZARAGOZA – Chris Bucher and Alex Gruber
ZEHLER – Brad Munz and Andrew Olinger

Kneeling (from left) – Mitch Poch, Alex Gruber, Chris Hackman, Grady Quinn, and Andrew Olinger

Standing (from left) – Chris Bucher, Zack Siegert, Austin Sanders, Nick Mendel, Brad Munz, Jake Rogan, Matt Crable, Matt Schneider, Jack Toomb, and Nick Wright

House System Logo 2014HOUSE CALENDAR

Questions: Please contact House Director Karen Matuszek at


2014 Trinity Dean Dan DeverTrinity Dean Dan Dever Retires! Best wishes to Trinity House Dean Dan Dever on his retirement! After leading Trinity House to winning the Marianist Cup in May, Trinity Dean Dan Dever retired from Moeller. During Dan's tenure, he initiated the Champ Cup to honor founding Trinity Dean Jim Champlin ("Champ," Moeller Class of 1972), who passed away in June 2011. Similar to the Marianist Cup, the Champ Cup awards points to Mentor Groups (MG) each quarter for a variety of House-level competitions. "Champ was instrumental in getting kids involved," Dan explained. "The Champ Cup is a constant reminder of Jim and his legacy."

To recognize Dan's leadership as Trinity House Dean for the past three years, Trinity Guidance Counselor Greg Derus initiated the Trinity House Dan Dever Excellence Award, which is "presented to a Trinity House senior who best exemplifies the energy, faith, competitive spirit, leadership, inclusivity, and passion of Dan Dever, former Moeller Trinity House Dean." The inaugural recipient of this award was Matthew Ryan Walsh '14.

2014 Todd NaumannMoeller Welcomes New 2014-15 Trinity Dean Todd Naumann! Todd Naumann, a Trinity Mentor Group Teacher, is a Moeller social studies teacher, Kairos leader, and football coach. This spring, Todd led Pastoral Ministry's C40M Lenten Program.

In May, Dean Naumann and his House Captains, Nick Mendel and Jake Rogan, led the Trinity House seniors-to-be to victory in the Amazing Race held at Higher Ground in May!

 2014 Trinity House Wins Marianist CupTrinity House Wins Marianist Cup!

At the end of the annual Crusader Games on Wednesday, April 9, the last event for the year-long Cup competition, Trinity House emerged the winner of the the 2013-14 Marianist Cup!

Trinity House Leaders: Kneeling (from left): School Captain Kyle Zimmerman, Trinity House Captain Joe Pappalardo, Trinity Dean Dan Dever, and Trinity House Captain Joey Ludwig. Standing, from left: Trinity Junior House Captain Jake Rogan, Trinity House Chaplain Jack Anton, Trinity Junior House Captain (and 2014-15 School Vice-Captain) Jack Toomb, and Mark Bugada (Class of 2014 Valedictorian).


MOELLER's secret of success

Father Chaminade, Founder of the Society of Mary

"The true secret of success in any work is to interest the Blessed Virgin in it."

9001 Montgomery Road Cincinnati, OH 45242 | Phone 513.791.1680 | Fax 513.792.3343

Donate!   facebook    twitter    moetube